Day 25: A Labor of Love

A typical day of 5 am munch, yoga, shower, munch, steal hospital WiFi to call husband, see patients for a few hours, hide in hospital in front of the only fan, steal more WiFi, write a paper, gossip with the Brits, hang out at restaurant for 4 hours stealing their WiFi (I’m not above whipping out my Laptop at a 5 star restaurant), almost drown in a bathroom, come home, sleep, repeat. Okay, so maybe I should explain a few things. The bathroom of this restaurant was built in the middle of a pond, so you have to cross the water on stepping stones. I didn’t think to make sure there was a floor before I stepped in, but luckily my fat feet didn’t slip through the cracks. Definitely the coolest bathroom I’ve ever been in. If I hadn’t been so frazzled I would have taken a photo. As for the fan, it is the only spare one that patients aren’t using, so most of us fight over it each day and today I ate my lunch quickly so I’d get to it first. By the end of the day there were 4 people sitting around me, being cool as hell (haha, get it?). Today on the ward was not that typical either. I had three patients die overnight and half of today’s patients were actively dying. It was hard because a majority of them were young. Their mothers were watching their child’s death. I constantly wonder if it would be harder to lose a child as an adult or as a child. I would think that it would be hard to see an adult child die because you would have spent so much time with them. On the other hand, I would imagine as a parent that seeing your young child die would just seem cruel and unfair. These are the things my brain contemplates 24/7. I feel that people think I am ignoring them, but really I am busy pondering these types of questions. I could spend all day in my head just thinking. It is usually stupid stuff…for example today’s life mystery was how do we keep finding new messages in paintings dating back centuries? How many dinosaur bones have been destroyed by oil drilling? How do you change your flight pattern to accommodate hurricanes? Of course, I do not have the internet to help, so I’ll just work these out later…unless someone wants to comment and help.

Just a few days left of medical school! What a way to end things in a foreign country. It is a perfect summation of my time in med school. I always compare it to pregnancy. At first, you are super excited about the possibilities…maybe even a bit nauseous. Then, as you progress further into medical school, you start to feel the pressure. Another year and you start to become very uncomfortable. Then, towards the end, you are just praying that it will all be over soon. The very end is filled with anxiety, pain, frustration, contractions, and you forget why you even went into medicine. Then, you have your bundle of joy, my long white coat, and you decide that it was all worth the pain and suffering. You couldn’t imagine something more perfect.

The Wi-Fi company has been notified, so hopefully I get Wi-Fi before I leave. Tomorrow is home care visits and the beach for the last time. Thank you all for following along thus far. I know that it was been tough to follow with me sporadically posting. You da best.

 

019
Since I didn’t get to see a real live elephant, I bought a wooden one instead.
004
You can’t deny that Indian people are creative.
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

